0 Menu

Gigi Masin - Talk To The Sea (2xCD)



CD 1

01. Snake Theory
02. The Word Love
03. Still
04. Fata Morgana
05. Redanzen
06. Talk To The Sea
07. Music For Chameleons
08. Little Faith
09. First Time Ruth Saw The Sea
10. The Nylon Dollar
11. The Kasparian Circle
12. Nadir

CD 2

01. Stella Maris
02. Call Me
03. The City Lights
04. She wears Shades
05. Almanac
06. Moor **
07. Not The Kind That's Blues **
08. Ship Beetel **
09. Random Security **
10. Zarata **
11. Swallows' Tempest **

** (CD Bonus tracks)

For their much anticipated second release Music From Memory take you into the world of Italian musician Gigi Masin.

Part of only a small and very much underground music scene in his hometown of Venice, Gigi Masin self released two modestly pressed LP's 'Wind' (1986) and 'Wind Collector' (1991) and appeared along side Charles Hayward for the Sub Rosa compilation LP "Les Nouvelles Musiques De Chambre Volume 2" (1988).

Having met with little commercial success in Italy at the time, Gigi Masin's solo albums remained for the most part totally unknown. His music has though in recent years, and seemingly by pure word of mouth, developed almost something of a cult following.

Gigi Masin's uniquely intricate and at times deeply emotive compositions take the listener into a realm of contemplation, a spellbound mind state where time and space appear to dissolve. His sparse and hypnotic often loop-based compositions seem to draw parallels with Detroit Techno's earliest beginnings, all at once conjuring those same feelings of both melancholic longing and ecstatic joy.

With access to Masin's large body of work, far greater than that of the handful of released recordings, Music From Memory's new compilation covers a period of over 30 years, from the mid 1980's up until recent works . Including seventeen compositions, most of which have remained unreleased or unavailable until now, 'Talk To The Sea' aims to shine a light on Gigi Masin's unique and heartfelt talent. This is electronic music from the soul.

'Talk To The Sea' is compiled by Abel Nagengast, Tako Reyenga & Jamie Tiller. Re-mastering by Brandenburg Mastering. Design by David McFarline.

©Ⓟ 2013 Music From Memory / Gigi Masin.
All rights reserved. Manufactured in the EU.